Sweet and Smouldering

Today I got to try out my new Too Faced Sweet Peach palette for the first time!

Since I was unfamiliar with the shades and only had about half an hour, I decided I’d try something from the How-To Glamour Guide rather than experimenting, and the one that jumped out to me was the middle of the three: Smoldering Peach. It used bright pinks, oranges and purples, but also had enough dark shades that I thought I could get away with it on a cloudy day in a mostly-black outfit.

The shadows went on like a dream and the colours were beautiful, but it was quickly apparent that the deep purple – almost black – in the illustration would be near-impossible to achieve with the given shades. So I got to have a go at experimenting after all, and immediately my brush strayed to Talk Derby to Me, since I’d been eyeing up that starry-sky shade since way before I even owned the palette. At this point my less-than-professional brushes let me down a little as the application was patchy, but I managed to darken things up and smooth it all out with a whole load of blending.

I also realised that the flash of Candied Peach along the inner corner of my lid, though sparkly and wonderful, just wasn’t achieving quite the pop of colour I was after, so I swiped some Bellini (another shade I’d been lusting after) over the top and immediately got the desired effect.

DSCN1017

It still didn’t go quite as dark as I’d intended, but I haven’t had a chance to experiment with much purple and I was enjoying the way it looked as it was. I also blended it into slight points curving up to meet the downward point of my eyebrows rather than blending it all around, which I think sets it off quite nicely. I also put just a dusting of Topshop’s Chameleon Glow in Wax ‘n’ Wane over the top to add a bit of sparkle (though you can’t really see it in the photo) – this is something I’m keen on doing because I could always stand to be more glittery and Wax ‘n’ Wane, though pinky in colour, is neutral enough to be lightly brushed on top for this purpose without altering the colours too dramatically.

I also happened upon this book today and I think it was fate’s doing:

DSCN1023

What are the chances of stumbling across this on the day you decide to start a blog about the very subject??

I’m really looking forward to having a proper flick through this and trying out some new looks. I’m sceptical about the “5 minutes” part, but we’ll see.

3 thoughts on “Sweet and Smouldering

Leave a Reply

