Front Page News, Apparently

So, this isn’t directly beauty- or make-up related, but I wanted to talk about one of the most surreal experiences I’ve had to date…

DSCN1043

… I was on the front page! (Disclaimer: entire page pictured to show that it’s the front page, not because of any of the other stories. Also, despite misleadingly placed headlines, I am not in fact a former Labour leader.)

My friend and I were enjoying a picnic on the first hot day of the year – given that I live in Scotland, these are few and far between, and especially unusual in early May – when we were approached by a couple of photographers who asked if they could take some pictures of me to go with their stories about the hot weather. They cleared away my half-eaten sandwich (which I had been enjoying, but never mind), positioned my friend’s wicker picnic basket near me instead, and asked me to go through a variety of poses whilst they snapped away with their cameras. The whole thing was over in a few minutes, and left me wondering if I was in a dream – nothing like that has ever happened to me before!

13151595_10154153705732812_1639435174600147676_n
Not exactly what we meant when we said we wanted to take a lot of pictures that day…

But the next morning, there it was: my face (if a little distorted by the fold of the page) splashed over not one, but several newspapers, toasting the sun with my fizzy drink and holding on to my £4 hat from the children’s section of Morrisons that I’d bought only hours previously in anticipation of a day spent outside.

I’m flattered and a little dizzy about it all, and I bought a copy of each paper I could find myself in just to reassure myself it was real (and also because, you know, I’m in the paper!).

In the name of keeping to my theme, I’ll also quickly mention the make-up that I wore that day.

tumblr_o6wqjybLxu1rne2ejo1_500
Picture taken right before my hair got the chop.

I wanted to keep it light and simple since I knew it was to be a hot day, so I had a go at Semi-Sweet, the second of the three looks in the Too Faced Chocolate Bar How-To Glamour Guide, which as suggested by the name is primarily made up of pinks and soft browns. I used just a touch of tinted BB cream (SPF 20 to avoid a burnt nose) and a hint of blush, and also got to try out my new matte cream Velvet Lippie from Absolute New York, which appeared in my Glossybox right on time that very morning. It’s a little more peachy than I’d usually go for, but it has a wonderful buttery smell and it was perfect for the day.

It was certainly a good start to my summer (assuming, of course, that we get any more hot days for the rest of the year)!

Leave a Reply

