An Unexpected Find

I was intending for today’s post to be about a cute, soft pink look I created from some experimenting this morning, but in the interim between taking the photos and writing the post I went for a wander round some shops, and I found this incredible lipstick!

DSCN1149-crop

It’s MUA Luxe Metallic Liquid Lipstick in Glint, and it’s not my usual (at least not for lip colour), so when I first swatched it on my hand I was taken aback by how dark it came out (too much so even to take a photo, apparently). But, after applying a little more and thinning it out a bit, it turned into this glorious shimmering celestial shade and I knew I had to have it. MUA Luxe is usually a touch more expensive than the original MUA products, but this was half price at only £2! I also picked up an eyeshadow primer and a matte setting spray which I’ll talk about in future posts.

Contrary to what I originally thought when I first swatched it, it did actually require a couple of coats to get the finish shown in the picture, and the pink of my lips showed through a fair bit until I had applied these. But, if you’re willing to reapply more often than normal for such a beautiful colour (and even if you aren’t!), it’s definitely worth the £2.

DSCN1147sd-crop

I don’t truthfully know when I’ll wear this lipstick. It’s very unlike anything else I have, as I mentioned, and whilst that’s not a bad thing in itself, I’m not sure what to combo it with, and I’m also not sure I have the confidence just yet to pull off such a bold shade. But I’m glad I bought it, all the same.

I guess I’ll save my soft pink post for another day!

13 thoughts on “An Unexpected Find

  1. I know I’d have no place to wear that colour. And yet I have to have it now!! I would try it with a gold or green eye, something quite quirky. Maybe some Egyptian style eyeliner, I’m imagining Katy Perry in the Dark Horse video haha. Looks amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m exactly the same – I don’t regret it but I don’t know when I’ll wear it! I can picture the look you’re describing, and I can see that working, something quite metallic and bold. I’ll have to keep experimenting! 🙂

      (P.s. I’ve just looked at all of the comments on this post and realised how many times I’ve used the word “fab”, sorry everybody)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yeah I think if you’re going to do it you have to go all out! It’s such a bold colour that it would be difficult to tone it down. But even just a little eyeliner with a good flick might work. And some gold shimmery eyeshadow works with everything! I’m genuinely looking at this on Superdrugs website now haha *adds to basket*.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ooh if you’re doing a bit if MUA shopping I recommend this lipstick in Blaze too! Also a great shade – although I can’t really attest for how either will look on your skin, as myself and a friend both have the two shades and they look totally different on each of us haha.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

