Galactic

I’m so happy with how this turned out!

DSCN1173crop

This look wasn’t planned, and in fact only arose due to a conversation in which my boyfriend told me I still had half an hour to wait before dinner. “I’ll go and play with make-up, then,” I said, and this was the end result!

It wasn’t totally unpremeditated, I admit. I have had several ideas buzzing around in my head since starting this blog, and some kind of galaxy/space look was one of them, but I hadn’t intended on doing it just yet (and certainly not in the evening when the light was fading so quickly I had to be somewhat resourceful to get decent-quality pictures).

I didn’t really have an exact technique in mind, and in fact it ended up being so experimental that I honestly couldn’t recreate the exact order in which I did things, but I set out with some brushes and Makeup Revolution’s Day to Night eyeshadow palette, and started heaping on the sparkly blues and purples, just to see where I’d end up.

DSCN1174
We know I’ve been relying too heavily on Chocolate Bar and Sweet Peach so this was a good chance to try something new!

Once I’d got down a good heavy base of dark blue/purple (using the shade above the “N” of “Revolution”, which comes out more purpley than it appears), I went over it using the shade one in from the left, which is much brighter once applied than it looks. I did this quite haphazardly on purpose, keeping in mind the array of mottled colours in your typical galaxy.

Then, I experimented. These are the colours I used!

DSCN1179lkfj

I was keen to have some red and green in there as well as just purple, blue and black, but by the time it was all layered together, these weren’t as clear as I would perhaps have liked. I dotted on some stars with the Galactica liner, but although this took a couple of attempts to achieve the look I was after, I feel that the hastily blotted first tries actually contributed quite well to the overall effect. Wax ‘n’ Wane, my classic glitter fave, was added over the top to create the illusion of smaller stars in the background, and Colourpop’s Stereo is just too deep and sparkly to miss out of a look like this.

As I mentioned, I don’t remember the exact order in which these all went on – I was just having a bit of fun and seeing what would work. I think that the variety of shades was key, though, because I didn’t want this to be a uniform blue or black space scene (as pretty as those can be). Then, as a final touch, I painted some of the Galactica liner over the ends of my lashes, to create the effect of some extra stars.

DSCN1171
I also used my MUA eye primer for the first time, with favourable results.

I had a lot of fun creating this look and I would definitely like to see what variations I can come up with in the future!

11 thoughts on “Galactic

Leave a Reply

