Something for Summer

It’s another sunny and warm day in Scotland today and I sort of can’t believe my luck! So I wanted to do something nice and summery with my make-up to celebrate.

DSCN1351

I’m continuing my mission to try and use shades I haven’t used before, and today’s was Sweet Peach’s Just Peachy! It’s not particularly evident in the photo, but I used this pink shade over my lid (with a base of Peaches N Cream), and it has a beautiful golden shimmer to it that I hadn’t previously noticed.

I had to use my camera’s flash to coax it into showing up, but when it does, it’s fantastic! I swept some Just Peachy on to my outer corner and crease, and popped a little highlight on to my inner corner with Luscious. Nice, bright and summery

DSCN1374
Fun fact: I was speaking in this picture.

Now, on to my eyeliner. I’ve been searching for a decent liquid eyeliner for a while now, after I realised that my Rimmel one was just too watery to achieve the effect I was after. I began using NYX’s Two Timer, but I found that the felt tip just didn’t stay saturated enough with product. And then, whilst picking up some Pot Noodles in Tesco, I noticed that a magazine called InStyle was boasting a free eyeliner pen, worth £12! I had never heard of the brand, Eyeko London, but I couldn’t pass up that opportunity, especially not when the magazine itself was on offer at only £2.50. As soon as I left the shop I eagerly opened it up, drew a quick line on my hand, and then grinned. It looked perfect.

When trying it for the first time today, I decided I would also try a new method of eyeliner application – the one most of you will likely have seen, if you don’t already use it, which involves drawing the outline of a flick and then effectively colouring it in. Although I wouldn’t say my attempt went perfectly, I’m very pleased with the outcome nonetheless.

DSCN1370

To finish off the bright Summer Look, I used this Absolute New York Velvet Lippy – the formula of which tends to seep into the lines of your lips, but also blends out of them quite well if you go over it a few times, not to mention that it smells of vanilla and butter – which is often too bright and overshadows my shadows (as it were), but which complements this look perfectly.

Rather than foundation, I opted for a nice light (SPF 20) BB cream today, and I also used Chocolate Bar’s Champagne Truffle as my highlighter, which worked like and absolute dream and which I will most definitely be doing again.

A spritz of Marc Jacobs’s Daisy, and I’m ready to head out into the sun!

2 thoughts on “Something for Summer

Leave a Reply

