Red Lips for Summer

I know, I know. I’m wearing eyeshadow. I just couldn’t help myself.

DSCN1420
I just love this picture of my boyfriend and I 

It’s been so beautifully sunny in Glasgow for the last few days so it’s been okay not to wear any eyeshadow, but I caved yesterday when I was invited out to a garden party-turned-night out with my friends.

I’ve stopped using the Simple wipes that I suspect were behind my stingy eyes, and started using an oil-infused micellular water instead, which I’m finding both lovely and refreshing and also much more efficient at taking off my make-up! I’m also suspicious of my MUA eye primer as it was a little uncomfortable to apply, so I’m steering clear of that for now too.

I used some nice soft matte shades from my trusty Chocolate Bar for this look, and given how much of a shimmer and glitter girl I am, it was a nice change (although I did then apply a shimmer shade to my lids once all the matte was done… willpower at an all time low apparently!). I really love the soft, smoked out look, and I am on the hunt for the perfect muted red shade that I think would be perfect for it.

My eyes don’t feel sore today, thankfully, but the skin around them is very, very dry. I put on just a smidge of the Aveeno cream I got the other day and they feel a little better now, so we’ll see.

I again used my Rimmel BB cream as foundation because it works especially well on hot days, seeing as it’s light on the face and also SPF 20. I then used my Ted Baker blush palette, and Champagne Truffle as my highlight. (Will I ever use another highlighter? I doubt it at this point.) Then I lined my lips with a Rimmel lip pencil and used Maybelline Color Sensational Lipstick in Pleasure Me Red, which I got quite a while ago but don’t often wear. It’s bolder than I usually go with for a lip colour, and it can leak in to the skin around your lips, which was more of an issue before I discovered lip liner.

DSCN1412

I wanted to go for something nice and bright to match the lovely weather, and I think I made the right choice.

I also have some more good news: I was offered a job!!! As of next week I’ll be making and selling sandwiches and pastries for a living. I’m so relieved, as it’s now been six months since I last had a job and I was beginning to panic.

So, with that in mind, and now that I’ve been writing to this blog for a while, I think I’m going try and refine the content and frequency of my posts a little more. They’re likely to be less frequent, but they’ll also be more focused, rather than just a description of the make-up I’ve worn on a particular day (much as I’ve enjoyed posts like these!). I touched on this in my last post, but I’m still working on it, so I’ll keep you all updated. I’m planning on getting an Instagram account set up soon too, which I’m quite excited about. In the meantime, you can follow me on Twitter here!

6 thoughts on “Red Lips for Summer

Leave a Reply

