Eyeshadow Palettes & Swatches

I have so many beautiful eyeshadow palettes now (and a couple of gorgeous singles) that I thought I’d bring them all together in one post!

DSCN1518

I suppose it will come as a surprise to very few of you that these are not all of the eyeshadows I own. But this is most of them, and I thought it would be fun to do some swatches to show those of you that don’t own one or more of these palettes what they’re like. (Don’t worry, I’m not going to swatch Chocolate Bar or Sweet Peach. Trust me, I wanted to. But I figure you’ve all seen enough of those not to want to look at them on my arms as well!)

First of all, my two favourite singles, both of which have featured on my blog before: Topshop’s Chameleon Glow in Wax ‘n’ Wane, and Colourpop’s Super Shock Shadow in Stereo.

Honestly, neither is done justice by a still photo. Wax ‘n’ Wane has so many shimmery colours and Stereo has got this crazy amazing depth, and neither can be shown properly whilst static. But, I’d say they still look pretty damn good in these. Also, Stereo has such a velvety texture – it’s incredible, and I wish that I didn’t have to shell out so much extra for shipping!

Next: W7 In The Night palette.

DSCN1529

I was super excited when I first got this palette. It was early in the year when I was just beginning to realise how much fun I found make-up, but before I had even thought of spending more than a tenner on a palette (this one was under £5 from Amazon). And, granted, it does look lovely in the palette – if you can ignore the slight mess I’ve made of it – but I’ve found that even the colours that look good in swatches are difficult to build to that intensity on the lids.

DSCN1530

I haven’t swatched these in any particular order – I decided when I first pulled all these palettes out that I was going to do random samples, rather than full-palette swatches.Whilst the second from the bottom shade here does look lovely (it’s fourth in from the right in the palette) and was comparatively easy to build, the shade below it, the second in from the right in the palette, went on flaky, as did a couple of the others.

I did however take a second picture of these particular swatches, because I felt that the colour at the top of my arm looked much nicer in reality and I wanted to give it another chance to shine.

DSCN1531

It is actually really quite nice – it’s the orange colour from the palette, second from the left – but again, it does take some building, and as much as I do love this effect in eyeshadows, especially with these colours, I have enough others similar enough which are better quality that I won’t be reaching for this any time soon, sadly.

MUA Luxe Paradise palette

DSCN1532

The way this palette is laid out annoys me (and also it’s much smaller than it looks here – maybe around four or five inches), especially because my favourite colour is that squished little red right along at the end! But, having said that, it’s been unfairly eclipsed of late by my shiny new Too Faced palettes, because, on swatching, I remembered just how great these shades are.

DSCN1533

Look at these colours! That payoff! I can’t believe I’ve let this palette sit unopened for so long. That pale colour at my wrist could be a very decent highlighter. And we all know how much I love a warm-toned eyeshadow – although that purple is also very lovely. I’m so glad I’ve rediscovered this palette and I’m definitely going to be using it again soon! In the meantime, here’s a dreadful-quality photo of a look I created a while ago using some of the reds in this palette (as well as some darker shades from others):

12733557_10205914503757324_8807904221941034645_n

Tanya Burr Hollywood palette

DSCN1535

I bought this palette around the same time as the W7 palette and I think I’ve maybe used it once. I just really didn’t think the colours were anything special, and I bought the palette mostly for the gold shade ‘enchantment’ but I couldn’t get it to go onto my eyes as anything more than a few pieces of scattered glitter.

DSCN1538

It looks better in swatches than I ever managed to make it look on my face (despite the fairly obvious fallout), but this seems to be the case for quite a few of the palettes I’m writing about today, so maybe I should give them another go – it’s entirely possible I was just doing something wrong before. The second palest shade in particular (‘gold coin’) looks just lovely here.

Sleek MakeUp i-Divine original palette

DSCN1539

I still haven’t had a chance to use this palette, but I’m still so excited about it, and even though I’d decided to do a bit of a pick ‘n’ mix in terms of swatches, it was difficult to restrain myself with this one. I’m not proud to say that I think I may have been spoilt a little by my Too Faced palettes and that therefore I’ve seen less expensive palettes as inherently worse quality, but Sleek has given me the kick I needed to nip that burgeoning snobbery in the bud.

DSCN1543

I’m absolutely infatuated! It turns out that I was wrong in an earlier post when I mentioned the beautiful rosy golden colour (above the green on my arm) – I thought it was Big Ben, but it was actually London Eye, so sorry about that folks! I love all of these colours and I can’t wait to try out some bold, colourful looks with them. Also, as a sidenote, anyone getting some Earl Grey (from Too Faced Chocolate Bon Bons) vibes from the blue? Regardless, I truly love every colour in this palette and I am so excited to get some use out of it.

DSCN1521-2

Which eyeshadows are you guys loving just now?

One thought on “Eyeshadow Palettes & Swatches

Leave a Reply

