Blue Wings

Firstly I’d like to apologise for the quality of these two photos – my camera decided to pack it in half way through so I had to take these on my phone!

tumblr_o8zi15jBcZ1rne2ejo1_1280-horz

I’ve suddenly found myself with a lot less free time since starting work, so I wanted to make the most of my one night off and do something quite bold. I wasn’t entirely sure what exactly to do, even after scrolling through Pinterest for a bit, until I opened my new i-Divine palette and was immediately drawn to the shade called E10.

DSCN1539
E10 is the teal shade on the top row, one in from the right.

As you’ll have seen if you’ve read any of my recent posts, I’ve been just dying to give this peacock-bright palette a go since I got it, but with my skin playing up and my minimal-make-up job, I haven’t had the chance!

I started off with my new NYX Eye Shadow Base in White Pearl. I found that the MUA eye primer I was using before was quite fussy to apply, and irritated my skin besides, but the NYX one goes on just lovely, and quite shimmery too.

Then I covered my lid right up to my brow bone in Peaches ‘n’ Cream. Although I’d already decided to do a soft cut crease with matte shades, the White Pearl base is meant to give everything a bit of sparkle, which was fine by me. Iย swept Georgia on to my crease and blended upwards as my transition; then I applied Pureรฉ, not blending up quite so far, followed by Summer Yum, which I kept mostly in the crease alone.

DSCN1093-2

Then, I switched to the i-Divine palette and applied E10 all over my lid. It’s incredibly pigmented, I was taken aback even after having swatched it before! As much as it looked amazing on its own, I decided it needed a touch more going on than just the blue, so I used London Rain, the darkest blue in the palette, on the outer and inner corners to create a soft halo, then emphasized it even more with Sweet Peach’s Talk Derby To Me on the very outermost corner and out into a wing, and a pop of Topshop’s Wax ‘n’ Wane in the centre.

I then decided to go a bit mad with Wax ‘n’ Wane and use it as inner corner, brow, cheek and cupid’s bow highlight too! It’s not particularly clear in the photos but it gave the whole look quite a celestial undertone that I enjoyed.

DSCN1608

I always feel as though my descriptions of how I’ve done my make-up leave something to be desired, so I was wondering – would anyone be interested in a more step-by-step description, with pictures to go along rather than just finished product pictures? I’ve been a little apprehensive about doing this in the past because I’m not always sure I’m doing things the ‘right’ way, but I’m usually happy enough with what I achieve and in any case I’m sure there are people out there who can give me some tips!

Also – this is somewhat of a tangent, especially because I don’t tend to use my phone to take photos for posts – I found a new photo editing app and it’s incredible! The effects are so much fun to play with.

tumblr_o90txwmn9X1rne2ejo1_540

Anyway, please do let me know how you’d feel about more in-depth descriptions with pictures!

_____________

Follow me on: Instagram | Pinterest | Twitter – Sleek MakeUP even retweeted this look from me!

 

2 thoughts on “Blue Wings

Leave a Reply

