My Best Friend Graduated Today! (And here’s the make-up I wore…)

So today, my boyfriend graduated, and I’m very proud of him. But also, it was an excellent reason to get dressed up and do nice make-up! (Not that you need a reason.)

13506998_1084746458263288_8042054521293320265_n

I mean… you can’t see my dress (which is fabulous) at all. But at least my jacket looks good! And I was happy with my make-up, too.

DSCN1694The ceremony started at 11am, but we had to be there at around 8.30, so for a face of make-up thrown blearily on at 7am, I’m pretty happy with this!

My dress is red, but as I’m still searching for my perfect red eyeshadow and as I was also going to be wearing the floral print you can see in the photo (which I took very hurriedly as my boyfriend was already running out to the taxi!), I decided to go for a sort of olive look that I’ve tried and loved before.

Are you perhaps thinking that my eyeshadow doesn’t look particularly olive, at this point?

You’d be right. I tried to mix Chocolate Bar’s Gilded Ganache, my initial colour choice, with Creme Brulée, in order to make it pop a little more; but what actually happened was that it turned out pretty much gold. I still felt like it worked, though, so I went with it. I applied it after going over my lid in white eyeliner pencil, which is something I think I’ll definitely do again, as it’s stayed on magnificently.

Also, I’m a little worried I’ve reached my eyeliner peak and that I’ll never attain these heights again.

DSCN1695crop

After straying from my Rimmel liquid liner in search of something a touch less watery, and testing the respective qualities of a Ted Baker, an Eyeko and a NYX felt-tip pen liner, I’ve returned with apologies to my Rimmel one. It can still be a little watery, but I don’t feel like the nib of the felt-tip liners holds or applies enough product, and they are on the whole less versatile. I’m still on the lookout for something a little bit thicker in formula, though.

Do any of you have any suggestions?

___________

Follow me on Bloglovin’ | Twitter | Instagram

7 thoughts on “My Best Friend Graduated Today! (And here’s the make-up I wore…)

  1. Ah looks like such a fun day!!!
    I always come back to Soap and Glory Supercat eyeliner, it’s really easy to apply, it dries instantly and it’s super black. It’s a bit expensive but it lasts FOREVER!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

