June Favourites

My first favourites post! It’s not something I’ll be doing every month, because many of my June favourites are also all-time favourites and they’re not likely to change very much, but I thought it would still be fun to talk a bit about the products I’m loving just now.


Too Faced Sweet Peach Eyeshadow Palette

(Well, you knew it was coming, right?)

DSCN1726

I honestly don’t think I will ever be over this palette. From the packaging to the fragrance to the beautiful colours, there’s never going to be a time where I don’t get excited over this. If I’m ever in a bad mood, I google “Sweet Peach swatches” to help me calm down, or else go and do some experimenting with it myself. The phrase “holy grail make-up” has been tossed around a bit too often for me to be keen to use it, but if there was ever a product I felt was worthy of it, it’s this one. I’m so, so glad I managed to get my hands on it (as a birthday present from a close friend, in fact!).

Lush Tea Tree Toner Water

DSCN1753

I was introduced to Lush toner waters a few years ago when a friend recommended Breath of Fresh Air, but recently my skin has been breaking out for some reason so after my last Breath of Fresh Air finished, I picked this up instead. These toner waters come in spray bottles and the instructions advise that you can spray them either directly on to your face, or else on to a cotton wool pad; but the first time I tried to use Breath of Fresh air straight on to my face, I didn’t realise how much product would come out and I ended up completely dousing myself! Direct-to-face application is clearly meant to take place from arm’s length.

I haven’t noticed my skin clearing up all that much as a result of using this, but the feeling of freshness that comes from using it has yet to be rivalled by anything else I’ve found, so I would still classify this as a favourite.

(Sorry about my nails. I have to keep them unpainted for work and as short as possible because of my eczema…)

KIKO Milano Glitter Eyeliner in Multicolour

DSCN1746

This is a new find, but it made it into my favourites before I’d even bought it.

I was in the new KIKO store in Glasgow speaking to one of the customer assistants about where I might find the primers (I’m on the hunt for a new one), but I could hardly concentrate on what she was saying because her eyes were so glittery. I mean, so glittery. I asked her what eyeshadow she was wearing, most likely with a vacant, overawed expression on my face, and she directed me to this. It’s eyeliner, she explained, but it can just be applied wherever you want some glitter. When I got it home, I went a bit mad with it all over my eyelids, on my cupid’s bow, along my cheekbones. I didn’t take any photos of that occasion, but I have worn and photographed it since. I’m still just astounded by how intensely glittery this liner is.

DSCN1733

I wore just a little in the centre of my eye and I couldn’t stop looking at it in the mirror. It’s amazing!

Max Factor Colour Elixir Lipstick in Mulberry 

DSCN1747

Not entirely sure why this one’s looking so messy, but this is a lipstick that I’ve just recently rediscovered. I picked it up in a pharmacy a while ago whilst I was waiting for my items and then it pretty much just lay buried amongst my other lipsticks until recently, when I realised what a beautiful colour it is and pulled it out again. We all know I love anything that has a bit of sparkle or iridescence, and this has what I think you could call golden micro-glitter throughout, so it’s perfect for me. It’s not the easiest to apply, but it looks beautiful once it’s on.

NYX Round Lipstick in Lala

DSCN1749

Again, not the greatest picture, but this lipstick represents the culmination of quite a long and extensive search. I hunted far and wide for something in this exact colour, but no matter where I looked, I kept coming back to this one. At only £4, you’d think that would be a positive, but regardless of how many times I checked and how many NYX counters I went to, they only ever had the testers left. So, eventually, I caved in and ordered it online, and I haven’t looked back. It’s easy to apply, easy to wear, comfortable, and exactly the colour I was after.

DSCN1471-2

Sleek Matte Me Lip Cream in Birthday Suit

DSCN1755

I already enthused about this lipstick in this post, so I’m not going to harp on about it too much, but this was another one that became a firm favourite almost immediately!

NYX Colour Correcting Concealer Palette

DSCN1754

This was my first foray into the realms of colour correction (other than a green concealer stick I had at the age of fifteen that I had no idea how to use), and it has also been my last, because after using this I’ve had no desire to look any further. I most often use the green, to cover redness and acne scarring, and the yellow, for my glorious dark undereye circles (made worse by my recent spate of 7am starts at work). The purple will likely go completely unused as sallowness is not something I suffer from, and the remaining three I’ve only touched on (literally) as I am not confident with contouring; but the effectiveness of those first two is such that I wouldn’t regret this purchase even if I never used the other colours again. I dab these on over primer with a finger and watch my skin magically become even.

Ted Baker Mascara 

DSCN1757

This mascara was part of a set that I received as a Christmas present, and it is absolutely the best mascara I’ve ever used. It’s not massively lengthening or even volumising, but as my eyelashes are quite long anyway, it’s perfect for when I want something a little more natural-looking – it’s not clumpy, and it separates lashes out whilst still allowing them a natural fluffiness. I’m not sure it can be bought separately, which is a massive shame, because I don’t know what I’m going to do when I run out.

As I mentioned, most of these products have been favourites longer than a month so this won’t be a monthly feature, but I still enjoyed talking a bit about them, and I hope you enjoyed reading about them!

___________

A sidenote: I’m going on holiday next week, so I’m going to spend this week writing up some posts to queue for whilst I’m away! I’ll be gone for a week, but I have plenty of ideas for posts to fill that time.

___________

Follow me on: Bloglovin’ | Twitter | Instagram 

7 thoughts on “June Favourites

Leave a Reply

