This Week’s Looks!

I didn’t feel like any of these looks were interesting or bold enough to warrant their own posts, but I was happy with them, so let’s pop them all into the one!

Night Out Eyes

DSCN1775

I recently went out for a friend’s birthday, and wantedย to try something a little different. Originally I’d intended for the darker colour to be black, but on impulse I put on a little sea green coloured KIKO shadow in the middle of my lid, and then some of my KIKO glitter liner over the top, and I was pretty happy with how it turned out.

DSCN1779

Purple & Gold

DSCN1699

This was surprisingly difficult to photograph – even this one doesn’t do it justice!

I swept on some light pinks from my Sweet Peach palette, and then I used my KIKO eyeliner in amethyst; but I have to say, I was a bit disappointed. The ‘lead’ of the pencil is very soft and very crumbly, and I had to go over the line several times even to get it to this intensity, sharpening in between to make up for the product lost to crumbling.

Then, I turned to my trusty Chocolate Bar and used Creme Brulรฉe to add a pop of gold in the centre of the liner. I enjoyed the effect it created, but I’ll have to try it with another liner because unfortunately the KIKO one just didn’t hit the mark.

DSCN1700crop

Nice & Simple(ish)

I felt like doing something a little more understated after having done a bit of experimenting lately.

DSCN1841-2
How can it be just in looking at this picture that I’ve realised I need a haircut?!

Of course, I’m perpetually excited by eyeshadow, so I ended up doing a little more with it than I’d envisioned (I was pretty much trying to emulate a girl I’d seen at work the day before, who’d done the most beautiful barely-there understated eyeshadow look!), but I’m still pleased with how it turned out on the whole.

For one thing, it’s been a little while since I last did winged eyeliner, the one style of make-up that’s been my staple since I was thirteen years old, so it was a fun challenge trying to get that right again. Have you ever noticed that it just never goes on right the second time, after you’ve wiped away your first, failed attempt? One of these two eyes has been almost completely redone from scratch following a failed eyeliner wing. (In all honesty, I can’t even remember which one.)

DSCN1844crop

I also used a new purchase for this look – The Body Shop Sparkling Black Mascara, which I picked up in the sale for ยฃ3! The sparkles aren’t very prominent, though, which is a bit of a shame, but I wouldn’t say that I’m disappointed, especially since I usually go for so much glitter that mega glittery lashes on top would just look ridiculous.

Have any of you done anything interesting or creative with your make-up lately?

___________

Follow me on: Bloglovin’ | Twitter | Instagramย 

 

6 thoughts on “This Week’s Looks!

Leave a Reply

