Illamasqua & The Anti-Fascism Pledge

I’ve recently discovered that Illamasqua have an anti-fascism pledge (you can read it here), so it seems like a great time to a) talk about Illamasqua and write a review of their Demise eyeshadow palette, and b) assert my stance, with them, as firmly anti-fascist and utterly anti-Trump, his supporters, and everything they stand for.

As per Illamasqua’s pledge, I never knowingly or intentionally discriminate against race, colour, nationality, ethnicity, gender, age, disability, sexual orientation or religion; and I add in the qualifiers “knowingly” and “intentionally” only because of phenomena like internalised misogyny and internalised racism that I am doing my best to unlearn. I recognise the privilege I have as a white woman as far as possible, and I do what I can to educate myself about all of these issues. I’m not perfect – nobody is – but we all have to start somewhere, and I really believe that, especially during this awful Trump-era we’re living in, it’s so important for us to learn how best we can help the many marginalised groups that his rise to power is hurting.

So, with the heavy stuff out of the way, and with renewed respect for a brand I already thought was pretty cool: let’s talk about the Illamasqua Demise eyeshadow palette!

tumblr_olj8drzigm1w03aloo3_540

Illamasqua is 100% cruelty free, and has a wealth of vegan products available, though Demise doesn’t seem to be listed as one of them.

I got this lovely little palette for £10.20 during a massive sale Illamasqua were having in January. At full price it will cost you £34, and it’s worth it for the beautiful, blendable shadows, but it’s also a little more than I could have afforded so soon after Christmas, so I’m glad I managed to scoop it up in the sale.

The shade that first attracted me to the palette, as I’m sure it has so many others, is the red-gold: Wilt. It has much more pink in it than shows up on the photo – it could be described as a more sparkly version of Urban Decay’s Fireball, except for the formula: while the other three shades are powder, Wilt is cream. I actually use the shade a lot less than I thought I would for this reason, as I find the cream quite hard to work with, but where the cream shadow maybe lets the palette down a little, the other three more than pick up the slack.

tumblr_olj8drzigm1w03aloo3_540crop

Gimp, the dark blue shade, is so pigmented that adding even a tiny smudge to darken a look can go very wrong if you’re not extremely light-handed – trust me, I learned this the hard way! It’s also a retired shade that Illamasqua has brought back, as part of this palette, by popular demand – in the aptly named Extinct collection, to which the palette belongs.

Lost, the light shade, looks like a creamy off-white in the pan, but is actually a beautiful shimmering white gold and an excellent highlighter.

And Interitus, the burgundy, is not dissimilar to Urban Decay’s new single shadow, Relish (which I love), and theBalm’s Matt Kumar, from the Meet Matte Trimony palette – in short, a popular shade at the moment, and just as blendable and as full of pigment as the other two powder shadows in the palette.

tumblr_olj8drzigm1w03aloo6_1280

The four shadows are housed in a nice sturdy case, and it’s not much larger than palm-sized, so it’s excellent for travelling with. And although I ultimately decided against taking it to Spain with me when we went last month, that was more to do with my own anxiety about something happening to it than anything else!

I’m glad that I bought this palette, and I look forward to getting good use out of it. I may not have bought it when I did if not for the fact that it was on sale, but I’m pretty confident that it would have sneaked its way into my collection somehow.

And considering the solidarity that Illamasqua is showing with those who need it most, considering the respect that they have earned from me and from many others with this act, not to mention the hope I’m sure they’ve instilled in those minorities who are feeling Trump’s rise to power and its attendant horrors most keenly right now, I hope that many more products do.

Leave a Reply

